Ask your FIRST question about SSiW in here...:-)

I thought it would be nice for us to have a thread that is specifically for new learners who haven’t asked a question on the forum before…:slight_smile:

And it’s worth remembering… there are no stupid questions… the act of asking is always an intelligent thing to do… and every person who is brave enough to ask a question in here helps dozens or hundreds of other people who would have liked to ask the same question (but were too shy)… :slight_smile:

So…

New to SaySomethinginWelsh?

Haven’t asked a question before?

Jump right in and let us try to help… :slight_smile:

13 Likes

North or South dilemma
I’ve been learning Welsh one way or another for nearly twenty years. I live in NZ. Along the way I’ve needed to focus on more formal written Welsh (and 19th century at that) with the result that my reading, writing and speaking are now all wildly out of sync. I speak what could only be described as a mongrel mix of North and South Welsh - slightly more South than North but I’m originally from North Wales! So, for example, I use hoffi rather than licio, lle rather than ble, ddweud rather than ddeud, and eisiau rather than isio or moyn. I was just starting SSiW to bring my conversation up to speed before starting postgrad studies (history) at Aberystwyth for a few months of each year. I did the Canolradd course at Nant Gwrtheyrn in 2010 and have booked myself on that as a refresher in March. I don’t have any problem with that but my problem is which SSiW variant should I follow? Any and all advice appreciated!

2 Likes

This question is asked a lot on this forum. The answer is it doesn’t really matter and almost all learners end up speaking a mongrel collection of dialects anyway. If you listen to Welsh media which is excellent practice, you will hear enough of the ‘other’ dialect to learn the differences.