Are there any beginners who live in USA?

Hello all! I am just starting to learn welsh! I am pretty excited! Unfortunately I don’t live in Wales. I am actually from Phoenix Arizona in the United States. I was wondering if anyone here is from USA as well? If not that’s cool! I would still love to meet people on here to get more practice:)I am glad I found this. It is really hard to learn a language when I know no one who speaks welsh at all. I guess that can really make learning a little tough. Also finding ways to learn welsh is not easy either. Since welsh isn’t a common language in USA it’s been difficult to get help. But thank goodness I found this. Look forward to getting to know everyone and to become a great welsh speaker:D

4 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forum first.

No, I’m not in USA, neither I live in Wales. I live in Slovenia though, so in the country where Welsh really isn’t even a bit common language.

I’m glad you’ve come on here because here you’ll find a lot of people from the USA. @tahl, and @Sionned are fom there for sure. They’re rather proffessionals in comparrison with many of us the rest, but still they are always of great help when one needs it. @AnnaC is also one from USA. (I can’t remember all from the top of my head but you’ll find many more people from USA here).

So, you’ve obviously came to the right place. You might very well find out that someone who learns Welsh lives just next door to you. And besides, here are our Learner’s maps which @Sionned arranges and updates for us all the time and if you want to get your mark on this map you just say where she should pin your mark in the thread “The ‘Please add me to the SSiW map’ thread” and she will do it for you.

If you have any other questions regarding learning or finding speaking partners (in the very bright future of your learning) you can always come here and ask and we’d be really glad to hear how your learning progresses aswell.

Pob lwc a chroeso! (Good luck and welcome!)