Anyone up for lyrics challenge - Haleliwia

Shwmai pawb, I am new to SSi and this is my first post on the Forum. I was looking for Welsh songs and found the version of “Hallelujah” by Brigyn. At first I was really excited because this is one of my all time favourite songs however, when I saw the English translation of their lyrics they appear to have written a completely different song and simply set it to Leonard Cohen’s tune. “Ah ha!” I thought, I wonder if anyone has ever translated the proper lyrics into Welsh and/or if anyone wanted to join me having a crack at this (obviously not intending to perform it or make money off it in any way so no copyright issues, just a bit of a language challenge). Beth 'chi’n meddwl?

3 Likes

A warm welcome to the forum, Sion! This sounds like a great idea, and I’m sure Brigyn wouldn’t mind - if you post the lyrics, I’m sure plenty of us can help chip in with bits of translation… :slight_smile:

So i assume you mean translate the original English words to welsh.
For those who want home work (gwaith cartref) i will put here the first verse.

Now I’ve heard there was a secret chord.
That David played and it pleased the lord.
But you don’t really care for music, do you?
It goes like this: the fourth, the fifth,
The minor fall, the major lift,
The baffled king composing Hallelujah.

Cheers J.P. (this could produce some interesting options on the learning trail).

1 Like

I heard Sian Cothi singing it on Radio Cymru a while ago, but I didn’t manage to work out if she was singing the ‘proper’ words or not. I remember vaguely wondering at the time…

Yup, those are the words and as a first stab, here is my clumsy effort…

Wel, clwais rhoedd cord gyfrinach
Bod Dewi ‘di chwarae a on hi’n os gwelwch yn dda i’r Arglwydd
Ond dw’ti ddim yn wir poeni am cerddoriaeth, on’ti?
Wel mea’n mynd fwl ‘ma: yr pedwerydd, yr pumed
Yr gostyngiad man, ac yr codi fawr
Mae’r brenin drysu cyfansoddi Haleliwia