An ambition achieved, a big lesson learned and a bit of 'agitation'!

Sorry about the length of this post, a bit self-indulgent, but I wanted to get across some of my enthusiasm at the moment for learning Welsh.

We are privileged to be able to visit Aberdaron on a regular basis, and we spend a lot of the year travelling around the Llyn. When I started learning Welsh back in 2011 I was a bit sceptical that I would ever get any further than the first few lessons; mainly because I have never really persevered at anything worthwhile before. Back in 2011 I set myself a bit of an ambition; and that was to speak Welsh at Nant Gwrtheyrn. This week I achieved that ambition… We visited the village and I was able to order our meal in the cafe without even apologising for my poor welsh, and then when I walked back to our table a couple of older Welsh people said hello to me in Welsh. A really great moment for me, and not possible without SSIW or everyone in this ‘community’. Diolch yn Fawr Iawn !!

The second part of this post concerns me meeting a toddler (1st language Welsh) who wanted me to kick a football a long way across a field. When he is older I will have to confess to him that at school I was mercilessly bullied for my lack of prowess at this game; but for now I will happily remember his face when I booted the ball across the field and his jaw dropped. He ran after the ball and then came running back to me saying, “Cicio Fawr, Cicio Fawr”. Two things happened here, one instantly and one a bit later.

The first was that I understood what he wanted me to do without having to listen; a tiny fragment of Welsh had become second nature to me, and I never thought that this would ever be possible! After checking with his parents, I asked him if he wanted to walk to the farm to see the cows (in Welsh) and suddenly I was using Welsh for a purpose rather than just for the purposes of practising. It was a small but ‘Fawr’ moment for me.