Aids for a visual learner

Hi, I’m still a beginner - got up to challenge 10 on Level 1 (North) - but it’s very slow going and far from satisfactory. One problem I have is that I’m a visual learner. So it’s difficult for me to retain Aran’s English sentences. One main clause is OK. But if there’s a conjunction (ac, ond, os, achos …), or a relative clause (be’, bo’, sy’ …) or combinations of both, then by the time Aran has finished his sentence I’ve forgotten the beginning. Or I’ve made a special effort to remember the beginning, but then can’t remember how it continued.
What would help me greatly would be a printed list of Aran’s English phrases. Something I can scan with my eyes while I’m listening to the speaking voice. There are numerous examples in the challenges where I know all the vocabulary and I understand the structures and the reasons for mutation etc. but I fail miserably simply because I can’t remember what I’m supposed to be translating. I hear the words as they come at me like water from a hosepipe, splashing off me in all directions. I stare but can’t see any meaning, and then the Welsh version cuts in. So I end up doing zero percent and using Aran’s slow, clear repeat as a comprehension exercise.
So my question is: Is there such a list available somewhere? Just the English original.

There isn’t a list as far as I know, however I had the same problem. The first two times I tried using SSiW I gave up because I couldn’t have repeated the sentences in English as I had forgotten the beginning by the time Aran reached the end.

Coming back a year or more later I finally got the method to work by starting to say the Welsh as soon as Aran has finished the first phrase or even the first few words. It sounds as though it wouldn’t work, but I find it does, but f I wait until Aran stops speaking, unless it’s just a short sentence, I’m lost.

4 Likes

Thanks for the tip, Margaret, I’ll give it a try.