Advice and tips before going to a Welsh language group?

I am going to try a group for Welsh speakers soon (I’ve been told it’s OK for learners “Of all levels” to go too).

Does anyone have any advice (topics to prepare etc.) before I go? I really want to make it a positive experience for me as I think what in lacking compared to other learners is speaking practice; Covid, a six month break and other life events aside, I’ve been learning Welsh in some capacity since January 2020 and I really want to go for it now!

Bit of an open-ended question but just thought I’d see if anyone has any ideas. :slight_smile:

There are certain questions which you can almost guarantee you’ll be asked, so you could prepare for those,

e.g. are you from Wales?, why are you learning Welsh?, do you get to use it very often?, do you have friends that speak Welsh?

If you imagine yourself being asked those questions and think about how you might answer, that COULD help, but be aware that it’s very common to get brain freeze and go totally blank, no matter how much you’ve prepared. If that happens, just try to relax and say “Sorry, I’ve gone blank. I’ll be right in a minute.” and give yourself time. Honesty is the best way.

2 Likes

Thank you, I’ll think of answers for those things and some things I could say about myself as well.

The interest in where I come from used to unsettle me a bit thinking I had a bad accent but I know now it’s generally a benign question everyone is asked!

Thanks, this time I am going to be more up-front and make sure it’s known I don’t have too much experiences speaking yet

1 Like

Definitely think of and practice asking and answering those kinds of general questions. They can fill up a few minutes particularly if theres quite a few people to ask.
Also don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Mistakes are inevitable, don’t worry if you’re a bit shy with new people. It’s ok to just listen for a bit also.