Absolute beginner with Welsh ancestry

Hello, everyone! I am just now embarking on learning Welsh, in honor of my beloved Welsh Grammy - my mother’s Ma, who did not talk about her heritage but there were certain things that she loved, such as the Welsh food, like the Welsh pasties and that sort of thing. But she did not speak Welsh to me or around me. I have done quite a bit of my genealogy, which has been confirmed by DNA, and I am about half Welsh, with the rest of it being mostly Cornish, English, and Irish. I live in the U.S., I am in my late 60’s, disabled, and likely will never get to Wales, but I still really want to learn the language and learn more about my heritage. Some people wonder at the practicality of this, but it’s my retirement, and I figure I can decide what I want to do with it, right? Any advice for someone who does not have ANY Welsh speaking support?

• Silver
2 Likes

With a subscription to the full course, plenty of Welsh speaking support is available to you through online tutors and there are also online chat groups you can join (and of course this forum for written help!). All this support is optional, and some people are nervous at first at using online groups so put off joining in with them, but my advice would certainly be to make full use of them as soon as you can.

There are learners (and speakers) all over the world, including lots in the US - although it’s a huge country, there may even be people near you that you don’t know about yet!

1 Like