A dream

Ok, so this isn’t a question it’s just a little something that I want to share. Yesterday I started Challenge 3 of the 6 minute a day course. Last night, I woke up at about 3am speaking Welsh (in my head, not out loud) and it was sentences with all of the new words and sentence structures I had been learning the day before. I woke up briefly a couple more times to find myself still talking away in my head in Welsh! Now I’m not prone to waking during the night (and I would rather not keep waking) but this was exciting to find that during my sleep I am continuing to practise. I am a dog trainer and behaviourist and in the dog world this would be called latent learning, however this can happen with humans as well. What happens is that during the rest period the brain has the chance to process what has just been taught and I believe this is a pretty good example of it! :grinning:

19 Likes

What a great post - and I agree totally with the latent learning. I am more horse training based, than dog based, but I find they need to take some time out to think about what has happened, and process it. Horses often stand and lick/chew, which usually means they are sorting something out in their brain, as to what has just happened in terms of learning.

I have found myself dreaming about Iestyn and Cat commentating on what I am picking off the shelves in the supermarket, and then repeating what they say - I am highly hopeful it is my brain sorting out the challenges.

5 Likes

Yes - people often talk about ‘consolidation’ as something of an umbrella term for ‘not during active effort’ learning in humans - and it’s clear that plenty of fascinating things go on, and that stuff like this has real and abiding value, so it’s a wonderful sign… :slight_smile: :star2:

4 Likes

Not sure why, but I read that on my mobile as “walking”. Sort of like a load of SSiW students sleep walking through Wales and speaking Welsh.

4 Likes

I reckon we do