Year (and a bit) in review - Mihil

A year in review by Mihil
So this review is well overdue (its over 15 months now) but I think it would be good for me to put my thoughts across in the hope that it may help people starting out. To cut a longer story shorter I was inspired to start by going to Tafwyl in 2015 and by visiting a local Welsh shop.

Now science is a middle class profession ( I am a PhD student). The head researchers in my lab are from England so I didn’t exactly profess my enthusiasm for learning Welsh. Additionally some people I told, mostly Welsh couldn’t understand why I wanted to learn, but one lecturer in my building, whose wife is a Welsh teacher has been very supportive. On top of that there are always articles on Wales online and other right wing media bashing the language. I’m very proud of myself now, but in the first few months these things effectively made it a hidden hobby at least until I had the proficiency and counter arguments to defend myself.

But it was from November 2015 to February 2016 where my learning really accelerated and I became fully conversation, and I became confident in my learning. I burned through all the material I could on this site and always took chances to speak to people in Welsh, wherever I could.

I was in Falafel wales, Canton Cardiff and had only been learning proper folyr 4 months. There were two lads in their late twenties early 30’s sitting and talking in another language. I couldn’t figure out which language they were speaking so I pretended to have a closer look at the menu. Once I realized they were speaking Welsh I asked if I could join them and practice and they were very welcoming!
There was lady on the train with a leaflet from Llandaff Cathedral, but it said ‘Eglwys Gadeiriol Llandaff’ on the front aswell. I took a risk and wrote down ‘Siarad Cymraeg?’ on a piece of paper. She said she did and I spent the rest of my journey to Bristol bumbling away in Welsh with her.