Sut, beth and pam in sentences with ti'n

First of all thanks to everyone involved in SSIW for making it possible for me to learn Welsh, I’ve managed to plug my way through to the end of lesson 14 of course 1 and it’s been a great experience. However once small thing I’ve wondered about is the nature in which the above 3 are pronounced when they precede ti’n (I’m studying the southern course if that helps). if “what I want to do” comes up as part of sentence it’s pronounced “beth dwi’n moyn ei wneud e”, but if “what you want to do” comes up it seems to be pronounced “beth i ti’n moyn ei wneud e”. Apologies if it’s just that my ears don’t work, or if the reason behind this has already been covered but I’ve forgotten it!

As an aside I was also wondering about the regular group meet ups, I’m a student at Cardiff university so while I can’t make meetings now I might be able to once I’ve moved in in September, maybe at Y Mochyn Du. Is there a minimum standard for these meetups as there is fot bootcamp out of interest?

Hi Joel,
“beth i ti’n moyn ei wneud e” - formally, that should be “beth wyt ti’n moyn ei wneud e”, but informally, “wyt” is often ommitted. So the “i” you mention is either “wyt” pronounced quickly, or your ears misled your brain, or vice versa :slight_smile:
I’ve never been to Cardiff, but I would extremely surprised if you weren’t warmly welcomed at the meetings.

I think you might be hearing ‘the squeak’ that I read about on the old forum. I can’t remember the exact explanation for it though so hopefully someone more knowledgeable than me will come on and explain it :slight_smile:

@Sarah The ‘squeak’ appears at the beginning of ‘we are’ ('y ni’n…), ‘they are’ ('y nhw’n…) and ‘you are (plural)’ ('y chi’n…) - including when asking a question (‘are we…?’ etc). I believe it also appears in ‘you are (singular)’ ('y ti’n) too, but often gets omitted in normal speech, although when asking a question in “ti”, this will always start “wyt ti’n…?”.