Starting out on my Welsh adventure

Hello,

I’m just starting out on my adventure into Welsh so thought I’d stop by and say ‘hello’. I’m off on holiday to Pembrokeshire in a few weeks so decided it was about time I had a stab at learning a little Welsh. I’ve managed to complete the introductory course and my head feels like it’s been used as Mike Tyson’s punch bag.

I’m skeptical as to how anyone can do the lessons one after the other with no pause button and no repeats. I find I’ve forgotten the beginning of each lesson by the time I reach the end and have to re-listen the next day. I have managed to avoid the pause button although I’ve hit the stop button a few times and screamed :scream:

Is it just me or do many beginners find some of the phrases are like tongue twisters I/you need/don’t need is a mouthful and I/you will/won’t starts to sound like vavi vavi vavi before my head goes VOOM !!

On a serious note, as Aran’s introductory emails encourage asking questions, what is the difference between the 2 alternatives that are given for “about it” ? In lesson 4 or 5 it sounds phonetically like “am hunny” and at the end of lesson 6-2 it’s given as “am denny” with both being used in the phrase “think about it”

Thanks
Andrew

4 Likes

In the Southern course ‘am hynny’ means ‘about that’. Things don’t always map exactly between N and S but, this might help.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Andrew! Congratulations on finishing the introductory course - a huge achievement! You should definitely come here to ask questions…it’s an incredibly friendly and helpful community, and I would never have come so far on my own Welsh journey without this place. I personally find that I have to use the pause button at times in the beginning or I get really lost. I’m trying to use it as little as possible, though. I definitely understand about feeling like your brain is melting :slight_smile: