Some good news

Helo Pawb,

Those who know me will know that I started learning Welsh because I had a mid-life crisis and decided it was time I wrote the novel I had always intended to write. The novel had Welsh characters (my mum is Welsh) so I checked out a local Welsh class. I only ever planned to do two or three terms, enough to get a feel for the language. The thing is, I enjoyed learning so much I didn’t want to stop.

So, now the mid-life crisis involved writing a novel and learning Welsh.

Then disaster struck. Our youngest daughter went seriously off the rails - running away, living on the streets, shop lifting, drugs, suicide attempts. Every parent’s nightmare! The days were long and dark. The writing ground to a halt. I was in a pretty bad shape. So bad, that my husband suggested I needed to get away for a while. He often went overseas for work but for me there was no escape.

I decided to use his frequent flyer points and go to Wales. A friend suggested I do SSiW in preparation. To be honest, I wasn’t keen. I felt like a complete failure at the time and couldn’t imagine how SSiW would improve the situation. It did however, on a number of levels. The most important of which was that it made me believe again. In every lesson, Aran told me how well I was doing. Every lesson. Without fail. His praise and encouragement were like rain on parched earth. I took them personally. Did a lesson every day. Sometimes twice a day. I was seriously hooked. I now tell people I walked through those difficult days clinging to the tail of an ancient language.