Other methods for learning welsh? any tips?

Shwmae! I am pretty new to learning welsh and from next week onwards I am planning to listen to SSiW whilst driving to uni and listen to Radio Cymru podcasts on the way home, in addition to using duolingo. I’m also using Anki and adding new welsh words to that when I come across them. Does anyone else know any other useful apps, podcasts, websites, youtube, or any other tips for learning welsh or making the process quicker?

I was also wondering, is it better to perfect a lesson before moving onto the next one, or is it better to progress quickly? and how often do you repeat the lessons? I repeat each lesson I have learnt already, before starting a new lesson, is that a good thing, or would it be more beneficial to progress a faster rate with less repetition?

Some of the pronunciation is difficult for me at this stage but have people found that it becomes easier over time? How do you know if you are pronouncing it in the right way if you are practicing alone? :fearful:

Diolch yn fawr! :slight_smile:

1 Like

It depends. Personally, I just used this and have reached a decent standard with my Welsh. Duolingo has the problem of the text to speech having awful pronunciation for just about everything (at least, it did when I last used it for Welsh; I understand their other languages have far better pronunciation). Moving on quickly is a decent option; each lesson revisits what you learned in the lessons before anyway, so while it’s harder, it’ll often teach you more, faster.

1 Like

Shwmae Ffion,

Croeso i’r fforwm! You’re in the perfect place to learn Welsh :smile:

I used duolingo - was useful for vocab but it’s got some limitations. I’d stick to listening and speaking at the moment. So the Radio Cymru podcasts are great, Radio Cymru generally - let it wash over you and just get used to the sound. Don’t try to understand everything.