Not understanding a certain person

My understanding of spoken Welsh is definitely improving now very slowly . When driving to work this morning I was able to follow the conversation on radio Cymru and although there are still times when I hardly understand much at all the times that I do are definitely becoming more frequent .
Not long after I got to work I saw I guy that I bump in to on a semi regular basis. I’ve been chatting in Welsh with him for nearly a year now and I still don’t understand a single word he says . It’s really frustrating as I want to have a conversation with him but I just can’t . Today seemed worse than ever . He may aswell have been speaking Russian to me !
After that I loaded up my van and went up the Conwy valley where I managed to have a few half decent conversations in Welsh , the best one being with a lady in Rowen who I have been speaking Welsh with for a few months now . She explained that she still owes money from last week’s order but would it be ok if she paid me just for today’s order and she will pay the rest next week . We then talked about a lorry that had crashed , the weather and what she is doing on the weekend. I understood her with hardly any problem at all . I explained before I left that I was learning Welsh and she was shocked and said that she had always thought that I was a Cymru Cymraeg . It got me thinking afterwards that the only reason I can have a conversation with her and not the other guy is the fact that I can understand her and that enables me to relply back to her . Has anyone else had this problem speaking to a particular person and if so did you manage to overcome it , and how ? It’s not just this one guy I have this problem with , there are a few people . I feel that no matter how long I learn Welsh for , there are some people I will never be able to understand !

7 Likes

Hi Sam,