New to welsh

Hello everyone! My name is preston and I am just starting the language course in ssiw. I can’t tell you enough about exciting it is to have found this website that is dedicated to helping people learn a celtic language like welsh. I’ve already finished the first lesson, and will move along to the second one soon. Anyone have any advice on how to do the lessons? North or south? Again I am a beginner and any advice would be appreciated. Many thanks!

2 Likes

Welcome to SSiW! My advice is make use of this forum as much as possible! You will find loads of advice here. If you are not in Wales it really doesn’t matter if you pick ‘North’ or ‘South’ as it’s all one language, it’s more a question perhaps of whether you like Aran’s voice or Iestyn’s voice more.

1 Like

Croeso (Welcome), Preston! You can read a post in the FAQ about North vs. South here: North or South? You might want to read the rest of the FAQ, there is useful stuff in there. One great thing about this course is that you can move at your own pace, and do the lessons in whatever way works for you - sitting quietly, while you are out walking, while you are doing chores, etc. It is encouraged that you don’t do any reading or writing in the beginning, so that you can develop a good accent - but this can depend on what familiarity you may already have with the written language.

Everyone here is very friendly, so don’t hesitate to ask any questions you might have!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum @preston. No advise from me as I needed them a lot when I began with learning, too. The only one I’ll give is that one both members before me did already: read the forum because there is a lot useful things written already and don’t hesitate to ask anything when the things are not sticking or you encounter problem however don’t hesitate to mark here your happy moments too. We’re happy to hear happy stories as much as we’re happy to help when help in needed.

Enjoy learning.

1 Like