My next trip to Wales - your thoughts welcomed

Helo Pawb!

I am in the process of planning my next trip to Wales. I will be at the eisteddfod in August. Yay! And I will be doing writing and research at Stiwdio Maelor again. However, I am toying with the idea of staying a bit longer and trying to do some public speaking.

As you may know, I’ve written a novel. It is the reason I started learning Welsh in the first place and the sense of homecoming journey has been incredible. I never get tired of talking about it. I have done some presentations here in Australia and they have they have been well received. I will be producing a media kit and trying to line up some speaking engagement in Wales.

However, one of the goals I’ve set myself is to do the presentation in Welsh. I wondered whether Welsh language groups/centers would be interested in? If you are linked to such a place or have any ideas/contacts, can you let me know.

I will not charge. I am seeing this a good opportunity to improve my Welsh. All I ask is that I be allowed to bring some books, in case anyone wants to buy one. But there would be no compulsion and no hard sell. The journey to publication has given me a language and a sense of my true heritage. That is the story I love to tell.

Let me know if you can help!

4 Likes

It might be worth you contacting Palas Print here in Caernarfon - they often hold talks and launches and suchlike so it would be worth a shot (and you already know how encouraging everyone there is!)

Would you like me to pass on some media kits to the various tv companies up here or tell you where to send them? (of course I can’t promise anything comes of it - but you never know).

1 Like