Meet up for conversation practice Canton, Cardiff area?

Hello!

I am a newbie to the forum. Been lurking for a while but this is my first post!

I was wondering if there is anyone in my area that I could meet up with for a bit of conversation practice? I live in Canton, Cardiff?

My background is as follows: I learnt Welsh at an English medium school up to G.C.S.E level. I absolutely hated it - bunked off most of the lessons and basically decided I just wasn’t a ‘language person.’

When my son was born we decided that we would go down the Welsh language education route. He is due to start Meithrin in September. I discovered SSIW about 1.5 years ago and have been doing it very off and on. I have completed the old course 1 and I am halfway through the new Level 1. I also have a lovely private teacher who I meet with every other week for an hour.

If there is anyone out there who also wants to practice and lives close by let me know? I feel like I need some ‘immersion’ in the language and meeting up for conversation practice would really help!

I know that Clonc yn yr Cwtch meets at Chapter on Mondays but unfortunately I work every Monday eve.

Finally thanks to the creators of SSIW - turns out I am not so dreadful at languages, just learning them out of textbook wasn’t for me!

Amber xx

3 Likes

@amber.mottram Croeso, Amber! I can’t help you with local conversation practice, since I live in the US, but I just wanted to say welcome to the forum! I think it’s great that you want your son to have a Welsh language education. Best of luck to both of you with your Welsh journeys :slight_smile: I’m sure someone will be along shortly with ideas for conversation practice help in Cardiff.

2 Likes

Shwmae Amber, a chroeso i’r fforwm!

I was going to say that we have a monthly meet at Y Mochyn Du in Pontcanna on the first Monday evening of every month from 7:30 onwards- only you’ve mentioned already that Monday evenings are no good for you!