Machynlleth

Helo. We are heading up to Machynlleth for a wee holiday and I wondered if anyone knew places that might be good for talking Welsh. (I am only a beginner so nowhere scary please)!
Diolch!

3 Likes

Helo, you won’t have any problem with finding somewhere to practice your welsh in Mach! All the locals speak Welsh it seems, so if you pop into the Co Op or one of the little cafes you’ll be able to practice! It’s because of this that I’m trying to learn the language! We have a caravan just outside Mach, and have made friends in the area, but it’s frustrating not to be able to talk to them in Welsh! Have a lovely holiday, and I hope you love it up there like we do!

3 Likes

Diolch

Siop Alys not only has delicious cakes but a friendly staff who, I’ m sure, will be happy to chat in Welsh to you.

2 Likes

Siop Alys is lovely for tea/coffee and you can have a look round the Owain Glyndwr Senedd-dy (entry is free) and the information is all bi - lingual. Are you in Mach on the second Saturday of this month - we have the SSIW meet up in Siop Alys then.

I started learning Welsh when I bought a caravan at Cwmllinau and then I moved here. It’s a lovely area and the people are very friendly and keen to encourage Welsh learners.

3 Likes

Diolch - I will try Siop Alys tomorrow.
Unfortunately we are going home the day before your meet-up

CAT (Canolfan Technoleg ??) just a few miles north of Mach is certainly worth a visit and affords plenty of opportunity to talk, listen and participate in Welsh

2 Likes

And the Dyfi Osprey Project, two miles south of Mach, is good, Some of the volunteers are Welsh learners,.

2 Likes