Listening Problems

I’m progressing well with the lessons (I’m on Vocab 2) . I’m having no problems learning the vocabulary and grammar but I really struggle with saying the sentences in Welsh when they are really long. I’m not very good at instructions etc. if there is more than one part (in English) I can’t hold the words long enough in my head before I forget what Aran has said. eg. I have one dog but there are four doors. I can only say ‘I have one dog’ and it is even worse when the sentence is longer. Is it okay that I do this or should I go over the lessons until I can do it. I feel bad because I can’t do the lesson properly even though my problem is not with the Welsh - it is with English/brain skills. Or maybe it is to do with the Welsh? Has anyone else experienced this?

I am experiencing it all the time, because I have a bit of the attention deficit problem. It’s worse when I’m stressed and I have to do the lessons (which is why I stopped doing them now for a week or two, because I can’t concentrate at all). But I don’t think you should worry about it. We aren’t training to become interpreters and when you’re talking to your native speakers you will surely know the amount of dogs and cats you want to talk about, because they’re yours and they’re relevant to you:) As long as you can remember the lexis and the structure of the sentence, what does it matter whether you’re buying five or seven dogs, or whether you’re selling beer or water (well, this one probably would matter in real life).

2 Likes