Is introducing ourselves the done thing here?

Hi all. I wasn’t sure if people typically did introduction threads or if they just jumped in to the conversations, but I thought I should introduce myself.

My name is Stacy Roberts. I’m 24 and I’m an English teacher living in Whitworth in Manchester. I have just started course 1 so I am not a Welsh speaker (yet!). I have Welsh family history (My Grandfather on my mother’s side was Welsh and he spoke the language) and I have wanted to learn how to speak Welsh ever since I found out when I was a little girl. I still have family in Wales who do speak Welsh, so I would love to, one day, speak to them in Welsh. I have tried to teach myself before using books but you can just never get the pronunciation right with those things!

I’ve only just started course 1, as I said, but I can already tell it’s going to be a brilliant course, and I am looking forward to the experience. It will be my first time teaching myself another language, so I am hoping I can manage to remember it all!

I look forward to progressing through the courses and talking to the wonderful community that seems to exist here. :slight_smile:

• Stacy

P.S. If introduction threads are frowned upon, I apologise.

Croeso gynnes iawn i chi/ a warm welcome to you, Stacy!
Luckily, you’ve found a great site for learning Welsh. I’m sure someone will be along to tell you about meet-ups in your area; where you’ll get a chance to use your Welsh…Feel free to ask any questions which invariably receive a speedy response.

Hello Stacy,

And a warm welcome to the forum.

I think it’s left entirely to the individual whether or not they wish to introduce themselves, and intro threads are certainly not frowned upon, especially not interesting ones like yours. Hope you manage to get the chance to speak with your relatives in Wales very soon.

Pob lwc!

Diolch yn fawr!