Interesting article about learning languages from TV shows

When I was first learning Spanish, virtually the whole class used to watch an Argentinian telenovela (soap opera) every night then enthusiastically discuss it in Spanish the next day. It really increased our knowledge of everyday Spanish - even if we did all sound like gauchos!

When I started learning Welsh, I started watching ‘Pobol y Cwm’ for the same reason - a desire to learn ‘street Welsh’ if you will.

Here is an article about others that have learnt various languages through watching TV series - perhaps useful to some:

7 Likes

Alas, I can’t get Pobol y Cwm because it isn’t available internationally. But of the others, I particularly like variety shows like HENO that give a visual <—> speech connection: cooking segments where ingredients and actions are explained as the recipe progresses (I got a smashing recipe for an easy toffee apple tart!), panel discussions where they concentrate on one topic, usually something light and often silly (like “Do you put the jam or the cream on your scone first?” The hosts and all the guests agreed with me: jam first), fashion and musical segments, and the like. It’s all very informal, there are several different accents, and I’m learning to distinguish the words and sounds peculiar to each region.

The first time a woman said, “Mae’n ddiddorol,” I nearly flew out of my chair yelling, “I know what that means!!!” :grin:

3 Likes

Jam. Obviously.

2 Likes

Pobol y Cwm was vital in myself and Lara’s Welsh learning journey - especially breaking the safety cord of using subtitles.

It really helped us with some of the slang-ier parts of the language and gives a real flavour of how people speak “on the street” so to speak.

1 Like

Yes, and I’m still using that excuse. I’m not hooked on it … really I’m not :grin: