Hello from Carterton

Hello everyone, thought I should introduce myself. I have been signed up to the newsletters for a while but have now actually got my backside into gear and started course1, just finished lesson 10 this morning. I studied Welsh at GCSE and enjoyed it and was decent at it too, but that was 25 years ago. Amazingly, my brain seems to have kept a lot of it locked away and it is coming back quite easily (so far!). Although I’ve lived in England (and a little bit in Holland) over the last 12 years, I’m always watching the rugby on S4C so I suppose it must sink in eventually. I live in Carterton, Oxon so only 2 hours from Caerphilly (hometown). Try to get back as often as I can and ensure my 2 kids never forget they’re Welsh (even though they were born in England). :slight_smile: I don’t know of any Welsh speakers around here, I appear to be right in the middle of 2 meet ups; Gloucester and Oxford. I’m aiming to get along to one soon.

Croeso i’r fforwm Antonio! Having got as far as lesson 10, hopefully you are already sold on this fantastic method of learning a language. It will be great to hear of your progress, and don’t forget to ask questions here if you have any. I do recommend getting along to a meetup on a regular bais and also trying to find a ffrinDiaith or Skype partner, if you can. The more speaking you do, the better.

Pob lwc i ti!

Stu

A very warm welcome to the forum, Antonio - sounds as though you’re off to a fantastic start, so I’m sure you’ll be getting a lot of pleasure out of using your Welsh in the fairly near future…:slight_smile:

How old are your kids? I’m currently of the firm belief that anyone who achieves anything (like remembering to breathe and stuff, let alone waking up an old language of theirs!) deserves a whole new kind of medal…:wink: