Complete beginner (and English too!)

Hi

Having never done any Welsh whatsoever I first discovered SSiW a few years ago when my daughter went to university in Bangor and as she was having basic Welsh lessons as part of her course in Primary Education I thought it would be fun to have a go myself. I started out on the old course but have to say I didn’t get too far along in the lessons, perhaps only to the first 3 or 4 before I got really out of my depth and gave up. I’ve just come back to the site, however, and want to give it another go. I’ve only done the first 2 challenges so far of the new course but already I’m finding it difficult. My problem mostly is with the longer sentences when extra bits are added on with the conjunctions though it’s not necessarily with the Welsh but in forgetting the end of the sentence in English by the time I’ve spoken the Welsh for the first part. I wonder if anyone has any advice for me on this, for example, is there a written transcript somewhere of the sentences as they appear? The vocabulary list is great as is the pause button facility but I often find I am completing the sentence with something other than what was initially said by Aran.

Could I also ask, am I better to be starting on the new course or going back to the old version which I notice is still online as I have read elsewhere that someone said they thought the challenges on the new course were harder than the lessons on the old version?

1 Like

Firstly, Croeso nol, Welcome back! Wanting to find out about this strange country and language to which your daughter is exposed is very natural and it is great that we can welcome you among us, although in my case that is only to the language as I am in exile in Scotland! I do hope you will manage to visit Wales and maybe meet up with other learners!