Comparing lessons with previous knowledge

I discovered this course at the 2015 NAFOW, and decided to try it. I have done the first two Welsh lessons, Northern style, in the old course 1. I studied some Welsh back in the 1980s, and what I am hearing here is not the same as what I learned back then. I guess I learned a more formal version of the language, the kind that is used in the hymns. So I am curious. I guess the language is changing. I know that languages change, but it is a bit hard when they change while you are trying to learn them!

I know that there are differences between northern and southern Welsh, but I am not sure exactly what they are. Possibly my questions are relative to the differences, but I do not know enough to be sure.

One question is about some of the words. Please pardon my spelling, as it is from memory. For example, I learned that “want” is “eisiau”, but what I am hearing sounds phonetically like “ishaw”. I know the lesson says not to write anything, but it would help me to see the proper spelling of what they are saying.

Also, I’m curious why this verb does not take the preceding “yn” like most verbs.

It seems that “gwybod” has become “gwbod”. And is “hoffi” used in the south only?

I am also curious about the sentence formation. To say “I am” or “I do” they say “Dw i”, as in “Dw i’n mynd”. I remember it more formally as “Yr ydw i yn myned”, with various simplifications. But for “you”, they just say “ti’n mynd”. I thought it would be something like “r’wyt ti’n mynd”. I think for questions they add something like “ydyt” or “wyt”, which sounds more like what I am used to. Has the helping verb form totally disappeared for second person singular?