Bi-lingual ingredients, English and Welsh (or not!)

We’re in the process of re-designing the labels for the food products that we manufacture and are thinking about labelling in both English and Welsh.
Our market area is North and Mid Wales as well as Shropshire, Cheshire, Staffordshire amd Herefordshire.
We think that it’s really important that we have a strong Welsh identity but would be interested to hear peoples opinions on bi-lingual labels - positives and potential pitfalls!

9 Likes

It could put you in front of your competition, as it doesn’t seem to be very widespread so far. Although I have seen multilingual labelling in other languages. You will probably be a good judge of what the extra costs are likely to be.

Speaking as a layman, I guess that you would need to be very careful with accuracy for legal reasons.

Some one on here will have knowledge of (free?) help that is available with professional translations. If you don’t here back, I think I have a link to this from a social media announcement.

3 Likes

Any time I have a choice between something labelled in English only and something with Welsh on it, it’s a done deal for me… :slight_smile:

8 Likes

As a family food purchaser living on the Powys/Shropshire border a bi-lingual label would definitely appeal to me. Pob lwc

6 Likes

The only pitfalls I can imagine would be practical ones like either needing bigger labels to fit everything on (which may have a knock-on to the cost of packaging) or having to print very small to fit everything on (nooo, please, I don’t always have my specs with me! :wink: )
As John mentioned, accuracy (getting the translation correct) is also very important, and one little drawback you may come across is when there is a North and a South option, then which do you choose?!

Having said all that, I think bi-lingual labels are a great idea - go for it! :smiley:

6 Likes