Best way for beginners to progress

Hello. I have just started SSIW and am confused! I am on Level One. Within that there are Lessons and Challenges. Are you meant to do Lesson One then take Challenge One and so on? Or is it best to do Lessons 1-5 and then Challenges 1-5 and so on? Apologies if this is a silly question !

Welcome to the forum Jane :slight_smile: Iā€™m just tagging @aran and @Iestyn for you, as they designed SSiW.

And donā€™t worry, there are no silly questions!

1 Like

Diolch!

Not a silly question at all!

If I were you I would just do the Challenges. I think the Lessons are from the old course which, when I was originally trying to learn, I found really hard to get on with. The new course, which is the Challenges, seem way better and I have progressed much further with them than I did before with the Lessons. I am a beginner too and have just reached Challenge 15 which I have just today managed to get through, albeit with lots of use of the pause button. Aranā€™s advice to me to press on quickly is definitely working for me as I know now that I donā€™t have to struggle to get everything right before going on to the next Challenge as there are frequent repetition and revision of whatā€™s gone before in every Challenge. I think with the Challenges, even with the little bit I have done, I am now able to make up my own sentences on the basis of what has been covered so far. With the Lessons I never got to that stage as I only really remembered the actual phrases I was repeating, and only a small percentage of those at that! Because of this, and because I was trying to repeat each Lesson until I knew it all off by heart, I quickly got bored and gave up. Now, several years later, I am back and am really pleased with the way things are going and the Challenges are really holding my interest and encouraging me to push on through Level One. Aranā€™s theory of pattern recognition is really coming up trumps with me and really seems to be working.